The s-mel(l)odrama in a day of my life.

At 6:00 am:

I woke up. It had rained the previous night. I did not have to look out to infer that, the petrichor was enough. I went through the daily morning routine. I aways caught a whiff of the toothpaste (mint flavour) before brushing. Then it was time to bathe. The Mysore Sandal Soap[Link] was my favourite. The essence of sandalwood that I carried along with me was something I was identified with in my peer group. I just loved that fragrance.

At 7:00 am:

It was a holiday. I got dressed and came downstairs to take a look at the scorecard of the India-Australia match. Mom was busy with the Pooja. As I walked down the stairs the fragrance of the incense sticks completely enamoured me and at once I was reminded to perform my daily salutations to God. Though devotion to God is a deep-rooted sentiment, the sense of smell can elevate it to higher levels. We believe that the cosmic creator has an osmic presence. I was engrossed in the match when the odour of the freshly prepared coffee decoction pulled me right into the kitchen. I loved coffee. After savouring a cup, I continued to watch the match. A little while later my peer group arrived. It was a holiday and how can we miss playing cricket?

At 9:29 am:

I was the batsman at the crease trying to defend a fast incoming delivery. Mom poured the urad dal and chana dal fried in oil and also the coriander leaves, cashew nuts deep fried in ghee into the vessel containing Bisibele Bhath (Hot Lentil Rice). Some of the the top layered molecules which managed to evaporate were carried away by air. The air which was then sucked out of the kitchen exhaust reached the veranda of our house, which for us was a makeshift cricket ground, and finally made way into my nasal cavity. The molecules then were received by the nasal epithelium and the transduction process began. The coded message was then conveyed to the brain via the olfactory tract and interpreted. I sensed the smell of Bisibele Bhath.

At 9:30 am:

As a result I was clean bowled in more than one way. I rushed home to join my family for the morning breakfast. I devoured the bhath.

At 10:30 am:

Dad was going shopping. I insisted that I will accompany him and he agreed. I ran inside the house to fetch the key of his moped. I opened the petrol tank and I smelled the petrol. I loved to smell petrol and I do it even today. At the market, every time I visited it, what caught my attention was the following; every section of the market be it vegetables, fruits or flowers, invited us with its own brand of smell. If we were blindfolded, we could still guess as to which section of the market we traversed based on sensing the smell. After shopping I had the privilege of returning home in a four-wheeler. It was my uncle’s. It was quite a discomfort since I had to sit in the front alongside my cousin and both of us were hefty. I still hopped in every time I got a chance since I loved the car perfume he used. It was AmbiPur[www.facebook.com/AmbiPurIndia]. What makes any trip pleasurable is not only what we do once we reach the destination, but also how we enjoyed the journey itself, isn’t it?

At 12:30 pm:

It was time for the Baba to drive away all the impurities in the house using his sambrani smoke[Link]. Uncle use to pay him ten bucks every time he “cleansed” the house. Lunch was about to be served. The preparation of bhajji [Link] announced itself in a similar fashion as the morning Bisibele Bhath, the only difference now being that there were far more people who sensed it. I believe that smell stimulates the quick secretion of enzymes which inform us that we are hungry. There was hundred percent attendance at the dining table. Lunch was followed by a nap.

At 4:00 pm:

It was time to join my friends again. Cricket ruled our hearts. I adored my bat. There was not a single day which would pass by without me whiffing off the sweet smell of the willow. I also liked the smell of rubber, especially the grip on the handle. After playing we would freshen up and meet at the Panipuri [Link] stall right across the bus stop on the main road. We were such experts at knowing before hand as to how good the Panipuri would taste that day just by sensing the smell of the pani and the masala mixed in it. Every person in the subcontinent who lived his/her childhood in the last two decades will have fond memories of his/her rendezvous with Panipuri.

At 8:00 pm:

I came back home and freshened up once again. The orange flavoured face wash removed oil from my facial skin. The fruit fever deodorant gave me that extra confidence. The aura of a person has a lot to do with how he smells, isn’t it? I joined my family for a marriage reception. As soon as we entered the hall we were welcomed by the drops of rose water sprinkled at us, which i believe, escalated my aura. My sense of smell was strong enough to portend a great time at dinner too.

At 10:00 pm:

It was time to rest for the day. I was reading a novel. The smell of the old book made the story much more interesting. Sleep befriended me without my knowledge.

Smell, unlike sight or hearing, has a direct route to many parts of the brain. Smell is evolutionarily older than sight or hearing. Sight and hearing are closely connected with higher functioning, whereas smell is associated with emotion. We enjoy our life, our surroundings as much through smell as through visual and hearing mechanisms.

_____________________________________________

This post is submitted as an entry to the blog contest “Smelly air to smiley air” at Indiblogger.

2 thoughts on “The s-mel(l)odrama in a day of my life.

  1. Nice title to this post…very apt….smellodrama in a day of your life…..nice use of the prompt….all the best for the contest

Leave a Reply

