To Mom and Dad

Dear Mom and Dad,

This is one letter that I have been wanting to write to you for a long time. Very seldom does one remember to thank those people who are, by default, an indispensable part of one’s life, isn’t it?

If I recollect the important stages of my life and ask myself the following question; “Who are the real friends who have helped me when I needed the most?”, I invariably end up thinking about you two. Yet when all those occasions were happening real time in my life, I often ended up crediting myself and, on rare occasions, other people for my success. The part played by you two, though being instrumental, was always less highlighted since it was deemed as your responsibility.

There is a vast difference between carrying out responsibility and taking care, isn’t it? When you are down with fever, a doctor carries out his/her responsibility by examining you and writing down your prescription whereas, a mother with her unequivocal love towards her offspring, suffers along and takes care. I would still say that the fever subsides more due to her love, care and attention than the effect of the medicine. At the same time, fathers make sure the medicines are available on time, even if it means that they have to search every nook and corner of the locality, whatever ungodly hour it may be. Dad and Mom, thanks a ton for the love and care that you have shown during the times I was unwell.

I have seen parents waiting outside the exam hall throughout the duration of the exam, looking more tense than their wards. How many parents become good at the subjects while making sure their wards learn? Dad and Mom, I cannot forget all the exams you took along with me ensuring my success. Thanks a ton.

They say love is blind, it overlooks logic sometimes, excess of love is detrimental,.. so on and so forth. I feel this is not true in my case. I can vividly recollect those occasions where you have taken a tough stand against me, and today I completely understand that you were right. Thanks for all the firm NOs. I have learnt where to draw a line from you people.

Thanks for planning my finances from the time of my birth. Today, I pay thousands to my auditor to plan the same Thanks for teaching me values and making me understand that there are somethings more important than money and making me someone who is happy and content with what life has to offer him.

All said and done, I believe that selfless love has its most distinguished illustration in the love showered by parents on their offsprings. Dad and Mom, in the due course of my life, I might realise many other such instances wherein you people have shown unconditional love and support towards my growth in every aspect. I take this opportunity to thank you for everything. Thanks for letting me know what kind of a parent I should be. Thanks for being my two BEST FRIENDS.

 Thank You.

_________________________________________

6743bc0c-f84c-4b75-b2aa-82bafb353f8e_zps485e2995

This post is written in response to the prompt “To your best friend” in Letters Unsent by Write Tribe.

6 thoughts on “To Mom and Dad

  1. This was such a touching post Padmanabha. Obviously our best friends for life are our parents, and the fact that you made use of the Write Tribe prompt to write them this letter speaks volumes for how much you love, respect and adore them. Please make sure both of them read this letter you wrote to them. Am sure it will warm their hearts and make them happy to no end 🙂

  2. This is superbly written and somehow fits in so perfectly with the theme. Of course our parents face the most trials and tribulations and get to understand sides of things which no one else can.. A lovely post on the prompt…

    Richa

Leave a Reply

